MaltaShootingSports.com Forum
SimpleMachinesForum     December 17, 2018, 01:06:18 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register today with Malta Shooting Sports Forum!
« MaltaShootingSports.com ForumOther StuffWelcome and About...Hello from the UK »
ThreadTools

Print

Random Pics

(Read 1534 times) [1]

Hello from the UK
« on: June 08, 2011, 13:34:12 PM » by Blackstuff
Hi all  Grin

Just thought i'd introduce myself and say hello! I've been shooting on and off for the last 20 years, and have had my own FAC/SGC for just over 6. I'll try my hand at any type of shooting, but i mainly shoot clays, practical shotgun and decoy wood pigeons with my shotguns. With the rifles i compete in local gallery and mini rifle matches, but also have a .308 for longer range stuff and deer stalking.

I'm holidaying in Malta this year, probably September-ish and was wondering if there is any kind of shooting available for non-residents? I would be hoping to do some shooting that is restricted in the UK, i.e. pistol and semi-auto rifle shooting - i understand that you're lucky enough to still be able to own them! Is Malta as strict as the UK when it comes access to firearms, i.e. do you have to be a member of a club to shoot etc?

Any other tips for things to do in Malta would also be appreciated!  Smiley

ATB

Mark

Mark

Re: Hello from the UK
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2011, 12:14:27 PM » by RB
Hi Mark don't know why no response to your post as yet.

Try contacting Victoria Shooting Range, as far as I know the only range presently licenced for c/f pistols and carbines (and also tactical shotgun / airgun)

Member on here "Handaq Range Management" (Handaq is the area where the range is located).

AFAIK a bit of a grey area as to what you are and are not allowed to do as a visitor. The Arms Act is dated 2005 and we still have only one range as at time of writing, (as above), and not yet approved for rifles, so perhaps many more questions than answers.

Good luck hope it works out!

RB